Traveling Tanzania: Part One

My recent travels.

This summer I was lucky enough to embark on an adventure like never before. Having been appointed as an “expedition leader” last October by my universities charity committee and allocated the trip of “Tanzania” the whistle blew, my heart raced and the rest is history.

Having 8 fellow (now very good) friends in the same position, we all sat around the table in our first meeting rip ready and rearing to go. This was it, we were embarking on the leadership development programme (whatever the hell that was) and preparing to be the head of a trip to lead other people half way around the world to a county we had never even been before. But this didn’t deter us! Our first meeting resembled that of a G8 summit- keen young individuals ready to fight world issues such as animal cruelty, lack of education and water sanitation. In this meeting we were told that it would be our responsibility to advertise and recruit a team for the expedition, liaise with the charity we would be working with and support our respective teams through their journey of fundraising and in country.

Shit…..what had I let myself in for?

In a space of nine months from advertisement, recruitment and support I have never felt so out of my depth. It was around mid-February when it finally hit me that I was responsible for taking 8 girls into the depths of Tanzania, to live in a rural Masai village, to educate their younger generations and build water tanks (at this point id like to add that the last time I was in an air-port I lost my passport). My only in country contact from the charity was a mysterious Semina whom I had never met or talked to and she would meet us in Arusha- that was a sweet 72 hours from the time we touched down on African soil.

So this is how it went down.

Day 0- The Airport: I managed to navigate the tricky routes of Heathrow airport safe guarding my girls from slips trips and falls flawlessly as though I was Angelina Jolie on the set of Laura Croft. Armed with my first aid kit, vast knowledge of how to be an effective leader and anti-malarial pills – this was it, I was defiantly ready to release my inner leader and make this trip outstanding.

1520777_739061629466189_7567438673802501421_n
Angelina and the girls in Heathrow

 

This was until we hit Tanzania, the warm moist air invaded my air conditioned dry nose, I was tired and lethargic from saving £90 in flights in exchange for a 10 hour layover in Dubai and my team were right behind be. We hit a jam of people in what I can only describe as a Tanzanian stock exchange for dollars and visas. The hustle and bustle was one way in which I hope to never awaken to again. At this point I became increasingly aware that we had to hand over our passports and $250 dollars for our visas, to an official. After a flow of questions that came as to why we had just handed over all of our credentials like we were purchasing candy and a few hours had passed – finally the official called my name, pointed to the door and in a spine-chilling laughter said “that way to freedom”. The dusty glass  doors opened to smiling faces, waving hands and a chorus of taxi drivers saying-

Welcome to Africa rafiki

This was my home for the next 5 weeks.

Leave a comment